South Okanagan Nature  logo_footer (1)
Mission Statement:“To provide a dynamic local focus for experiencing the natural world of B.C. and for promoting its conservation”
• Indoor meetings are held on the 4th Thursday of the month, September to May (except for December) at 7:00 pm in the basement of the Penticton United Church, 696 Main Street (blue church on the corner of Main & Eckhardt). Please bring your own coffee mug ---- New members always welcome,
• Our birding, wildflower, geology, social group meets every Thursday in the north parking lot of Cherry Lane Mall (north of Warren Ave. and east of Atkinson St.) at 9 AM. "For the summer months we meet at 8 AM."
• Field Trips are generally made in the spring and fall.
Next Monthly Meeting
Thursday, Sept 24/15
Travels through Galapagos and Mainland Ecuador
Lisa Scott will provide a glimpse into the incredible wildlife and scenery of the Galapagos Islands and the Cloud Forest of mainland Ecuador following her recent excursion to this amazing region of South America.
Next Field Trip
To Be Announced
TBA. leader ..


The 2015 SONC picnic will be held on July 5 at Three Gates Farm (Doreen’s) beginning at 4PM. In keeping with a vote taken at the last monthly meeting, the picnic this year will not be a pot-luck; instead it will be a bar-b-q with appies, burgers and salads. (GF and vegetarian options available). Tickets are $6 per person. Beer, wine and soda will be available for purchase (at discount prices) so the picnic will also serve as a bit of a fundraiser. No BYO please. There will be games with prizes and a multi-item raffle so bring some money with you.
Note: tickets must be purchased by June 25 – no ticket, no picnic! You can buy tickets at the May meeting or from Glenda Ross at the Seniors’ Drop-In Centre (2965 South Main) between 10AM and 12 noon Monday through Friday from May 29th until June 25th.

Directions To get to Doreen's go south on Hwy 97 from Penticton to White Lake Rd and turn on this rd and go to the top of the first hill; Three Gates Farm is on the right. There will be a sign & balloons. Hope to see you all there.

Bring your own picnic chairs please!
Habitat Garden
June 20th at 9:00 am at Okanagan College.
Thanks - Joyce
South Okanagan Nature BOOKS book1
Okanagan Valley Birding Trail Guide
The "must-have" guide to the hottest birding spots in the Okanagan Valley. Thirty-two pages crammed with all the info you need to find birds in the Okanagan. With more than 320 species possible, the Okanagan has everything from ptarmigan to Sage Thrashers and lots in between.

Available now for only $4.00 plus postage & handling. To order click on books in the list above.
WELCOME to the 2014/15 Executive
President: open
Vice President: open
Treasurer: Colleen Emshay
Secretary: Marlene Hikichi
Past President: Bob Handfield
Directors: Jerry Buzzell, Doreen Olson, Lisa Scott, Dennis St. John, Jim Turnbull.